Unemployment and Dominating the World

So we’ve been home since April 24th and needless to say I wasn’t prepared. During the months leading up to our return to the US, friends and family keep asking the obvious question of what’s your plan for when you get back? For the first time in my life the honest answer was I have no plan, which was a big deal coming from a type A, over planner like myself. While we were gallivanting across SE Asia it was refreshing to have a world of freedom ahead and energizing to think I can do anything. Today officially marks one month of being home, and no income, no car, and endless time, has given me a whole new perspective on life.

Not that this reality is shocking in any way, but it doesn’t make it any easier. The only real reverse culture shock I experienced was the price of gas and beer. The rest of my life was sitting here waiting, just as it had been before, as the alternate universe of my Korean lifestyle got ripped off like a band-aid. Fortunately, I have 2 huge events to look forward to so I don’t have to look into the endless, question mark abyss that is my life until Mid-June. One is the wedding of my wonderful sister to her amazing husband. The second is the World Domination Summit in Portland, Oregon.

The World Domination Summit, or WDS, is an event being held by the inspirational, non-conformist blogger, Chris Guillebeau. It is a convergence of like-minded individuals who are set on living life by their own means, and have found career paths and endeavors that are unconventional. I hope to one day be in the same league as these groundbreakers, and look forward to hearing their stories and getting motivated as I decide what direction to take next in life. This is also the first purely solo trip I have taken, and I am excited and nervous about having to push myself out of my comfort zone.

SistersAfter Portland I will be flying to Baltimore to spend a much-anticipated week with my sister leading up to her wedding. When I return, my plan consists of getting back in shape, reaching old goals and finding new ones, and pursuing anything and everything I find interesting until the universe unfolds as it may.

This post marks the end of this blog. We had a great year documenting our experiences and I have a feeling new blogs may be in my future as this has become quite a habit. Thanks so much everyone who has followed our journey, we really appreciate all the support. Until next time!

4 Responses to “Unemployment and Dominating the World”

  1. Make sure you post a link to your new blog! Hate I found you guys so late but would love to keep hearing about your adventures!

  2. angelagiese Says:

    It was awesome meeting you at WDS! I’m totally subscribing to this blog.

  3. Hello my name is Frederic, I am the co-founder of ProjectAngel (website coming soon) and I found your blog interesting. I was wondering if you will be interested to do some collaboration with my company” Please contact by email if you want to know more about it. Thank you. Frederic frederic.bibard@gmail.com

  4. I have question when the event occurs? i just want to attend this next year.

Leave a comment