The end is near

Ok, so maybe not imminent, but with the seasons circling back to winter it seems as though many EPIKers have been in a thoughtful, reminiscent state of mind. Since we started our contracts in the frigid months of winter the return of the cold has made me realize our last few months will probably be over in a flash.

The official sign from the universe winter has begun:

Daegu, South Korea

This stand Β is uncloaked only in the winter months where a woman stands outside nightly baking yummy red bean pastries.

For some reason cold weather stirs up very strong memories for me, and has had me missing home. Here is some of what I’ll miss from the winter season (aside from the obvious Family, Friends and FOOD):

Bonfires: (this is winter in Miami folks!)

Bonfires

Holidays

Christmas

Food

Family

Family

New Years

CP+B Holiday Costume Party

CPB Christmas

Can you guess who we are? Hint: the theme was The ARTS

Even though we’ll be missing the comforts of home, family and friends this holiday season we’re looking forward to an exciting last 4 months spent with the amazing friends we’ve made over here.

What have you been missing lately??

9 Responses to “The end is near”

  1. Gee Gee!! I miss YOU more than anything. Because winter break usually means I can hang out with you 😦 and I miss walking to starbucks in the freezing cold with you and Amy in the ‘ville. and I miss New Years parties!!! 😦 even though I was ALWAYS fighting with some rando boyfriend at those parties… sigh… Well wither way, these pictures made me sad. miss youuuuuuuu

  2. I was just telling Dad how the cold makes me sad about not being home. I feel like I should be baking cookies with mom or out buying Christmas presents rather than whatever it is I’m doing. Oh, well. That’s the price of grand adventures I suppose. Enjoy your last few months! Can’t wait to you get home. πŸ™‚

  3. I think you guys started EPIK when I did…February 2010. I am currently struggling whether to stay another year or not. It appears you guys are definitely going home. My year has been good, but the only thing that keeps me from signing up for another year is having to deal with mostly unmotivated students (mine are high school). However, even if the students are unmotivated, the job was/is really not that hard and I think I’ve done a good job. But, I’m still not 100% sure I want to go another year. I’m also worried my employment contacts in the states will forget about me if I stay another year.

    The last 3.5 months will fly by for sure.

  4. @David – yup we started in Feb and are definitely going home. It’s been a good year but there are a few things at home that are calling us back. If it hadn’t been for that I’m pretty sure our decision still would have been to go home. I’m sure high school kids are even worse, but I feel your pain. Some of mine are great and motivated and some aren’t. They definitely have a good deal for resigners though and a lot of the teachers I know are staying. Good luck with your decision!

  5. I miss having a life.
    Work and school take a lot out of you.
    Can’t wait for you two to be back πŸ™‚

  6. Yeah, thanks. This freezing weather as of late is making me miss Los Angeles where it is currently 90 degrees (which is a bit hot, but at least it’s a dry heat with no mosquitos). Yeah, the resigning bonus, raise and extra 2 weeks of vacation is nice. But, I know my decision will go down to the last minute. If I have a bad week of classes and it’s -5 C at the time they ask me what I want to do, I’m sure I’ll say, “No thank you, I’m going home.”

  7. Im gonna miss you SO much at Christmas 😦 But Im sorry, next year we HAVE to take new cousin pics cuz that one is unacceptable!

  8. @ Sam – haha I LOVE that picture πŸ™‚ plus, I could only find so many Christmas pictures of us on Facebook!

    @Nadia – looks like you’re doing great in school. I always look out for your blog updates πŸ™‚ can’t wait to see you when we get back!

  9. Love the Halloween costumes! It’s a bit sad knowing the year is coming to a close. But I do personally miss my freelance freedom.

Leave a Reply

